Machu Picchu, Huayna Picchu, and the Worst Massage Ever

After posing for our slightly foggy photos at Machu Picchu, we wound back down the hill for about 5 minutes, so we could get officially signed into the park. Apparently lots of the extra security is because of the large increase in naked photos taken at Macchu Picchu. They had just had some folks two days prior, and security was still incredibly tight.

20140421-192008.jpg

20140421-192349.jpg

Shortly after, the group had a nice guided tour around the historical site, learning more about it’s history. Build in around 1450, only used for around 100 years, not visible from down below. It’s truly an awe inspiring site.

20140421-192359.jpg

20140421-192407.jpg

20140421-193230.jpg

20140421-193238.jpg

After our tour, some of us sadists went to do the Huayna Pichu hike to get a gorgeous view of the site. It’s one of those things that I had to book on when I booked the entire overlanding tour(since only 400 tourists are allowed in a day, they had to get our extra permits for that way in advance). I figure, you’re only there once, right? Little did I know how those knees would be feeling. šŸ™‚ Only 4 of us had booked on in advance, some folks gave some of their gear to everyone else, and then we hiked up!

20140421-193309.jpg

It trully was amazing views of Machu Picchu, and we were quite fortunate that the fog had started to burn off. It took me about 45 minutes to get to the top, and seemed steeper and harder than any of the previous bits of Inca Trail, though that could have jusst been residual soreness. In retrospect, it really wasn’t that bad. Close to the top there was a cave bit to crawl through, and then just some amazing boulders at the top to have 360 views of the ruins and surrounding site.

20140421-193346.jpg

20140421-193556.jpg

Sarah and I waited at the top for Gemma and Lotte, and then we all started to head down. For some reason, I felt no need to go slow on the steep stairs and took off. By the time I reached the bottom, I felt like I really should climb back up to our first viewpoint to get some other unobstructed views of the city. And am I glad I did! More gorgeous views of the site!

20140421-193719.jpg

After that, I took a quick sink bath and then hopped a bus to Aguas Calientes(the closest town) to meet up with the rest of the folks from our trip The restaurant we ate at even carved us some fruit for us to celebrate the end of the hike.

20140421-193924.jpg

After a quickish/overpriced meal(not nearly as good as our Inca Trail feasts), some of us headed off in search of cheap massages to help pass the time before our train. Seriously, nearly everywhere in town advertised massages. Ryan, Claire, Emily and I would up picking one that looked semi-legitimate. Little did we know, our beds would only be separated by sheets, and we would have to wait about 10 minutes for enough women to come from surrounding sites.

It was an incredibly bizarre experience. Kids would come in and out. Halfway through some of our masseuses switched. I think we all agree the people doing our legs did a fabulous job, but whoever did our backs was horrific(seriously, how hard is it to get the back portion right?). It was the best/worst $20 massage I’ve ever experienced.

I was glad to hop the train another hour later, then grab a bus and boom, back in Cusco! What an amazing few days. Inca Trail was one of those places I’d been looking forward to the most, and it did not disappoint!

Leave a comment